Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

September 14th, 2013

Chronologically, I was supposed to be doing an assignment for class today, after working, but I… I… I didn’t!


Title: Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull
Started:
September 13th, 2013
Finished: September 14th, 2013
Rating: 8/10
Time duration: ~7 hours

Yesterday, I met a friend, let’s call her Mewtwo, whom I haven’t seen in YEARS (literally), and it brought me back to my love of Hidden Object Games. I asked her if she still played them and if she had any that she recommended. She recommended SO MANY that when I got home yesterday, I went and I played one of the games. It’s called Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull. This game is the seventh game in a series that isn’t quite done, I think.

I don’t know how to review a game… so this is the first time that I’m doing something like this… (this blog is so full of firsts… first review for a TV show, first review for this, first review for that… mind you, be patient with me!).

I could take on puzzles and prove that I’m a half-way decent observer. The puzzles were diversified in what you had to do, observe and understand. I was very entertained by them. The hints that they gave (yeah, because I’m a n00b and I need hints sometimes!) were not always clear, and this made me want to persevere to solve the mysteries.

For fun, I took a picture of my mystery case puzzle hints sheet. I posted it on my tumblr. Feel free to check it out also! 🙂

It was an interactive game, where I could talk to the people (NPC?) in order to pursue my investigation. They even put subtitles in the game, so that you understand exactly what you can’t always hear. This, I find, was greatly appreciated, because sometimes, I simply couldn’t master listening to an accent as fast as they spoke.

The graphics were gorgeous to look at. I sometimes wished that I could see nature like that (then again, the creepiness of the eery house and the swamp COULD have chased me away quite honestly if I had stepped into town).
The music in the background was well chosen, also. It fits the theme and gives off the ambiance of mystery and everything.

The storyline was easy-ish to follow, and I think (I don’t play THAT many games, mind you), that the flow was good. There was suspense (I find) and it was fun to look for clues based on the actors’ behaviors and everything. This is a little bit nowhere, but I quite enjoy these types of games because I learn more vocabulary words, also.

I don’t want to give away too much, and I am certainly no expert on the games, so I won’t say anymore than: I’m surprised it took me around 7 hours to solve all of these cases.

Anyways, hope you guys enjoy the game!
If you play it, please tell me what you thought! 😀

Ponyout!

