Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Dance of Death
Started: September 17th, 2013
Ended: September 17th, 2013
Rating: 5/10
By: Big Fish Games
Time Duration: ~4 hours

September 17th-18th, 2013

Hey there boys and girls (girls, mostly, let’s be completely honest),
How-do-you-do?

Today, I finished the game called Dance of Death, a game by the Big Fish Games company. I didn’t think they had THIS many games made! I just checked on the IGN website and their own official website. They have a lot of games… On their Wikipedia page, there’s not a lot so… yeah, Wikipedia, I take back what I said about you being my best friend.

You’ll see that I didn’t rate this very high. Where do I begin? Well, first let’s set the setting (hahaha)…

I had forgotten my headphones at home [NEVER MORE] and decided that I wanted to try out the game anyway, without the headgear. I thought I would get by easily. MISTAKE! (Conflict ahead, you’ve been warned!)

I think you’ll find in most reviews that I talk sometimes about the music, which can be so good, and plays a major role in the gameplay.
Actually, I think this may well be something that probably all gamers know. Please take notice (yet again) that I’m just a noob.
Have you SEEN the number of games I’ve played in my life?
You’ll find that the answer is: Not a lot!
Well, this is where I say it: without the music there to support the story, I found it excruciatingly difficult to relate to the story. I was less frightened by the whole game. Then, when I came home and, after doing my readings, decided to play till the end, I cranked the volume up a bit and found just how scary it was. Much to my dismay, as I had been cruising through the puzzles without much effort and could think rationally. When the music started, I found myself having a bit more trouble concentrating because of the music, and this is GOOD, because it put me in the mood, the atmosphere improved greatly.

The atmosphere of the story suffered because… music! Without the music there to drag me into the story and frighten the hells out of me, I could think and solve puzzles better. So much better. Perhaps this is the reason why it did not take as much time for me to solve the game.

To make it up to them and to myself, I’ll replay this game in hard mode again, with the music on, promise!

The story was surreal (my mood when ‘living’ this game was cut short by the lack of atmosphere and music). I can quite understand the whole ghost thing and the dead coming back (or not), but I thought some things were simply missing; shouldn’t we have encountered more people? What happened to the whole town to make it so deserted?
At least in the Blood Ruby case and in the 13th Skull case, there were people and I could somewhat say ‘okay, this is what happened and I don’t think this person is my prime suspect.’ In the Dire Grove story, there was absolutely no wonder who the culprit was, it was a matter of solving the mysteries and saving the graduate students.
In here, I was supposed to solve a crime and save a boy, just like in Dire Grove, but I had absolutely no idea who the suspects might be. There was, I find, no introduction to the bigger picture, you had to grasp things as you went.

As you will have noticed, with the fear factor out of the question, the puzzles were eerily easy to solve. I was also in ‘hard’ mode, which offered me little comfort. There were two puzzles which striked me as difficult. The rest, I could, very sadly, solve them without even thinking about it. In many cases, that’s exactly what happened.
Something major that I disliked was the fact that the ghosts were the ones who dropped hints here and there after I finished something, like they were programmed to do. But it wasn’t explained WHY they had the objects to begin with and WHY they chose to drop them as it went. Because I had chosen to go in-game with Hard mode, I think maybe this has something to do with it? I’ve no idea, it was the first time I played in a similar mode.

The Hidden Object Boards are something to turn your attention to, however. There weren’t enough (just warnin’ y’all), but it was a great ‘workout’ for the mind, because there was so much interactions inside that you really had to look and solve. I loved getting these and found there may not have been enough.

So in the end, if you like Hidden Objects, I found them very entertaining. The story was intricate but there was only one moment when I went: HOLY SNAP, I’m scared! I base my ratings on the emotional roller coaster that the game can put me through, and I must say that this one didn’t live up to my expectations. I’m storing this game for a later time, when I’ll have played a lot, and I’ll come back to it.

Tell me what you think about it!

See you, guys!
Pony-out!

