Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Riddles of Fate: Wild Hunt
Started: September 17th, 2013
Ended: September 21rst, 2013
Rating: 9.5/10
Leafeon‘s Rating: 8.5/10
By: Big Fish Games
Time Duration: ~I don’t know

September 24th, 2013

Upon starting, I have checked out the three levels of difficulty in the game:

  1. Casual Game
    This mode is for new or casual players who want a relaxed game-play session. Game locations are marked with sparkles, and the hint recharges quickly.

  2. Advanced Game
    This mode is for advanced players who want to overcome obstacles without extra help. The hint takes longer to recharge, and there are no sparkle indicators.

  3. Hardcore Game
    This mode is for those who are eager to play the game with no help at all. There is no hint feature, no mini-game skip function, and no sparkle indicators.

I have chosen, for this game, to go with the Casual Game, as I don’t have a lot of time at my disposal [anime, work, anime, homework, assignments, school, etc.], but promised myself that I would try the hardcore games as soon as I was able to assess the game’s features (it has SO MANY, seriously! There’s even a bonus story among other things.). This game is high in my priority list not because, like the Dance of Death, I did something wrong to it, but rather because it was magnificently done and that, even at Casual Game, I was left puzzled at some of the mysteries that I had to solve.

The reason why it took so long to accomplish finishing this is because both Leafeon and I have schedules for school work that differ sometimes, so when we came home, we’d take 30 minutes to 1.5 hour almost every day to finish the game. It was difficult to resist and continue, but it had to be done (haha).

The art style in general was mighty “outstanding” (using Leafeon‘s words). The colours were appealing, but not too much, like the in case of the Blood Ruby, where it was colourful to appeal to the girls. The colors were sometimes completely dark in shade and tone, which made me shiver slightly. The landscape was beautifully done. So much, that sometimes, I didn’t ‘catch’ that I had to click here and there, because it looked so much apart of the scenery! The effects were very nice as well, they joined forces with the art to make the atmosphere believable. The cutscenes combined both art and effects beautifully. Leafeon and I made sure that we were mentally ready [and that there was enough volume that we’d be able to hear everything] before ‘summoning’ the cutscenes to us.

In the same line of thought, the music effect, which I should always find important, was fitting for the game. It made you want to continue, it made you get goosebumps, it made you feel for the characters, etc.

The storyline lacked something. There were instances where I wished this character could do this, and I wished that character could… but still, I loved the flashback scenes, I loved the story behind everything, we both found it easy to anticipate sometimes, but it was equally easy to get dragged into the flow of the story (I really don’t want to spoil, sorry). The ending was all right, it tied some of the loose ends, but…
There were some things that I was found wondering at the end: I can understand the motivation behind the detective staying though who and where was the person who sent him/her the letter? Who is the detective?

The puzzles were brilliantly done. Sometimes, I didn’t know what to do at all. Some other times, they were easy to do, but most of the time, I found myself staying up for a longer time than usual just to solve the one puzzle. It was extremely nice and a change of pace from the previous game I played, Dance of Death. The clues were well-hidden. Some of them came MUCH earlier than the mystery itself came, and I liked this, because it made me puzzle at how to solve them and where I would need to solve them. The difficulty of it made it even more fun. I can’t wait to get into the Hardcore Game Mode.

The Hidden Objects boards were partly easy and partly difficult. You had to combine some objects together in order to make the right object at least once per board (increased level of difficulty: Ponyo likes), and some things were hard to understand. I don’t have an example, but I think I learned some vocabulary words, hahaha (now to use them…!).

Anyways, I recommend this game for people who are looking for a challenge (of course), even in the Casual Mode of the game. I know that I found it mildly difficult to complete. It was a fun game with characters and scenery it was nice to see interact, and the puzzles were the best features of the game also.

All right, see you next time!

Ponyout!

