Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Fairy Tail
Season: 2
Watched: 2 episodes so far
Original Creator: Hiro Mashima

April 14th, 2014 

Hello there everyone,
How are you all doing? The day I’m writing this is the ‘Black Day‘ where people who are single (like me) celebrate their celibacy, right? I’m not even sure that I’m using this correctly, but I want to eat noodles… black noodles…

At any rate, if you know me in real life, or if you’ve seen my Tumblr or even my Twitter, or just my Facebook, you’ll know that I’m a huge Fairy Tail fan, and I absolutely love reading and watching the anime. Last year, when Season 1 was cancelled, no one knew if it was coming back or not. I was so sad that I stopped watching altogether – which is why, on MyAnimeList, it took me so long just to finish the series [Hey, I’m not as bad as Noctowl, who still hasn’t reached the 150th-episode milestone of Season 1]. Recently, when Fairy Tail came back on our radars as Season 2, I hurriedly finished watching the first season and plunged myself into season 2.

The first thing that I have noticed – and later, Chikorita noticed as well – is that, whenever the Mages use their magic, now, there are no longer any magical circles. I found that this is a loss, mainly because we both liked to watch the intricate-ness of each of the displayed magical circles. It was something the manga never touched up upon. Now, in episode 1, Wendy Marvell has to DRAW OUT a magical circle in order to invoke Milky Way (which, as I recall, is what needs to happen in the manga for her to summon that special magical spell, but nowadays, whenever Natsu Igneel summons his flames, there are no more magical circles… it makes me sad…

What I like about the Opening of this season is the fact that Natsu and Lucy Heartfilia are almost always shown together [I ship it, as many others do, right?]. Of course they were going to be a canon couple, however, I like it even more when they officially show it. It makes me all giddy inside. The same can be said about the Ending of the season, actually, where Lucy – in an AU (Alternate Universe) meets Natsu and they go out on a date. Whether or not she was already waiting for him to begin with, I don’t know – also HorribleSubs can’t be budged into giving us the meaning of the lyrics…

I can’t say it for sure – or rather, I can’t pinpoint exactly WHAT, but the visual style somehow and for some reason definitely changed. The art as itself did not quite change – as you can still recognize all the characters and Hiro Mashima’s ‘style’? The colouring, I feel, has changed perhaps and definitely, I think that the animation has also changed.  But, as I almost never fail to mention, I am still a n00b at reviewing and I still consider myself as pretty noob when it comes to anime in general (as I don’t watch a lot of them).

Story-wise, the Grand Magic Games [] in the manga had always been an interesting event, however, it left a lot of questions unanswered – for me anyway – and it might also be because I often forget details about what happens. And so, I often found myself wondering whether or not this second Season will clear things up for me a little. I look forward to seeing this.

The first episode of the season was too… ‘introductory‘ for me. This is in the sense where we had to be ‘re-introduced’ to everyone once more, as if we didn’t know them. The same goes with the plot, where they had to review everything that had occurred in the previous season. I will admit that this may be because I have binge-watched the final episodes of Season 1 and immediately watched the following season, so I didn’t welcome these introductions as much as other people would (I guess).

Dear readers, I can’t wait to see more about what happens next.
I shall leave you with these questions:

  1. What did you think of the Season’s first episodes?
  2. What did you like? What did you dislike?
  3. What do you look forward to the most?
  4. Are you new to the Fairy Tail fandom?
  5. Will you be following this series as closely as you have with Season 1 (if applicable)? [I know I will]
  6. What anime are you watching this Spring Season?

All right, that’s all, see you all in good health once I finish these finals!

ヾ(●ω●)ノ  – Ponyta –  ヾ(●ω●)ノ

