Tags

, , , ,

Title: The Fault in our Stars
By: John Green
Rating: 6.5/10
Started: July 17th, 2014
Finished: July 18th, 2014
Comment: It really didn’t take me as long as I thought it would to finish this book…!

July 18th, 2014

Hey there peeps!
How are you doing? I’m sorry this is the first 24th post since June (well it’s been a month). June 24th was my province’s birthday celebration (let’s just call it that) and I was hit with a teensy bit of sadness which I won’t go into too long. I’m doing better though, which is why I’m writing (I guess).

So, I didn’t think that I would cave in and read this novel. But I saw my cousin (11 years old) reading it and she said it was good. Another friend of mine (I’ll have to find a nickname for her and add her entry into the Pokedex soon) and I also read a portion of the book together at a Chapters and I found it intriguing – even if, judging by my bookshelves and my reviews here, you wouldn’t guess that I would be into these kinds of books (it wouldn’t be a lie; I’m mostly not). However, I decided to go out of my comfort zone and read it anyway because it sounded interesting.

I guess something else that pulled me towards this book was Shailene Woodley [can’t believe she’s 1 year younger than me!!], the actress from Divergent (movie which I have quite enjoyed), who will (or has) play(ed) Hazel Grace in the movie adaptation of this, and I was sort of interested in watching the movie as well.

The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

I don’t think I would call the story ‘linear’ and I don’t think I would call it ‘prévisible‘ although I did see certain things coming, it didn’t stop me from enjoying the book – and this is saying something, since I usually complain about it. I’m not an expert in these “slice of life” books (books that don’t have a touch of magic or anything fantastically awesome inside), so bear with my opinion. Certain points I did not approve of, I guess, but overall, I was not displeased by it.
[To note that, seeing as I finished reading the “Infernal Devices” trilogy, I was INCREDIBLY relieved there was no love triangle to worry about… I’ll stay away from City of Bones for now, just in case]

The characters were quite interesting – although I will say that their meeting and him falling in love with her was a little bit… shall we say a l’eau de rose? But I didn’t mind that either, because I guess teenagers who are about to die COULD possibly want to get the most out of life possible and not want to wait to taste each other’s flesh.
[I can’t help it, I will compare this to Infernal Devices. Tessa Gray and William Herondale (Infernal Devices) and Hazel and Augustus (The Fault in our stars) all have this love for reading. They’ve read classics which I don’t read, and yet, I’ve never quite understood Tessa and Will’s endless inside jokes about the novels and it annoyed me more than it interested me into reading these books, whereas Hazel and Augustus didn’t overdo it as much and it didn’t make me feel like I had to read it absolutely to find their inside jokes and comments funny).

The narrator is the thing that hooked me the most to the story. The author chose the point of view (first person point of view) well, since you plunge into the character’s shoes and thoughts much faster, in my opinion. I love her sense of humor and the funny quips that she shares with Augustus and Isaac. Hazel Grace adds humour and sarcasm that just speak to me at many levels. I can also relate to her view on life and death, because I almost have the same.

Of course it’s quite romantic!! It’s a novel which targets teenagers (young women, even?) and it’s meant to make you shed a tear or two maybe (like I said: NON EXPERT, but I did shed a tear (or three)). And I’m not gonna lie; certain parts made me roll my eyes and sigh at how cheesy it is. And if sometimes – totally not judging since I myself was willing to take a go at it – that’s the kind of story you’re looking for, why don’t you give it a go? I’m even gonna go watch the movies at some point this summer (not sure when).

That’s it for now I guess, peeps!
See ya soon!

(◔ᴥ◔)  Ponyout!  (◔ᴥ◔)

