Tags

, , , , , ,

Title: Peter and the Starcatchers [Goodreads, Wikipedia]
By: Dave Berry
Started: July 27th, 2014
Finished: September 20th, 2014
Rated: 8/10

September 23rd, 2014

Hey there everyone!
How are you all doing? The month of September is coming to an end, which means that we’ll all be preparing for Halloween soon, unless you’ve already started [I’ve seen those posts on Tumblr!].

I’ll be honest with you all, I didn’t especially expect that I’d be writing about Peter and the Starcatchers for my “24th of the month” review, so this might actually come in pretty late despite my scheduling it now [because as you can see, I’ve only started to write it today]. Nevertheless, let us get started!

Honestly, this novel had been in my Goodreads’ To-Read list for so long, and it had also already been in Andrea so long that I don’t especially know how or rather what got me into it. I suspect it was Goodreads’ Recommendations list. They probably based this recs on the fact that I read a lot of retellings of Fairy Tales (just because I’m that sort of pony who simply loves those, no other meanings required). According to the Wikipedia page I just linked you to, Disney is even looking towards making a movie adaptation of this [I only learned this now, but it’s pretty amazing and impressive]?

While to certain other people’s opinions, I wouldn’t qualify as authority on the matter if I told you that this novel was definitely a “page turner“, I’ll do it anyway, because while I may have been busy, whenever I read it, I simply couldn’t stop unless my body was too exhausted by the day and I had to close the book to get some sleep done [that and, of course, reading other novels in parallel to it].

I was not disappointed by the action featured in this adventure based novel, and I was even especially pleased with all the nautical and pirate-related knowledge that I was able to recognize from my research on the subject [Pirates of the Caribbeans fanatic that I am]. From my unexperienced eyes, the author certainly has done his research, enough to fool me about the knowledge anyway.

The characters were well rounded and there were quite a few of them. This made things more muddy and more difficult to predict (which is a good thing in this case, because it kept me going and kept me sprouting scenarios after scenarios), and a bit irritating, as you would have to read through a few chapters down the road in order to find out what this specific character is doing, nevertheless, I enjoyed the switch in narrators from time to time.

However, certain characters didn’t deserve to be left out after the roles they’d played in the story. I’m sure that in the sequels, I’ll probably get more on them, but for now, some characters I got quite attached to (the porpoise, for example), I quite missed by the end.

Another danger to having so many characters [along with having a many multiple narrators type of situation] is that sometimes, your readers will forget about the characters. Sometimes, your readers will wonder where the heck the character is, mostly because we’d already read through a chapter or two of this character’s point of view, only to suddenly being denied the continuations [yes, I’m talking about Leonard Aster most specifically]. I understand that it might have been intended for us to forget about the characters [a “omg we still do have reinforcements coming to help us YAY!” kind of moment]. However, this is still mostly where it lost points with me.

With my only very slight knowledge of the tale of Peter Pan, given to me by the Disney movie, I thought that this ‘modern’ rendition of the story was quite well executed. They added Molly (who isn’t really in the Disney Movies, but still provided to be a great female character), and kept the iconic characters like Captain Hook, Smee, Tinker Bell, the mermaids, the Lost Boys… and I trust that, as the sequels progress, we’ll even see other characters make their comebacks.

The humor is something to note about this novel. It’s a Children’s Novel, so it’s got to have a really well rhythm of jokes and humorous events, even if it will be somewhat predictable, it has enough chapters to confuse you a little before you can finally say for sure that this will happen. It also has nicely executed illustrations as well [which I’ll admit I never really paid attention to, mostly because I like letting my imagination paint the portrait].

It also can pride itself with a great concept derived from the original content; that of the starstuff and the abilities that one can have with such matter at hand. I greatly loved it, and I hope to see more of the starcatchers and their whole system.


Can I call this a shounen type of book? Yeah, I’ll call it a shounen, although it encompasses many elements that I love in a story: enough romance to make me ship, enough characters to make a story realistically possible, a good enough storyline which still contains certain elements of the retelling that it’s doing, a good plot line which doesn’t drop, extremely good humor, etc. I’ll not name everything. For those reasons alone, I would totally recommend this novel to you (especially if you don’t mind it being a bit… ah… predictable).

imageAnyways, for now, I’ll get going,
I hope that you’ll have fun reading it if you decide to do so!
And I’ll see you another 24th of the month!
Ponyta’s out! 

