Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Batman: Assault on Arkham
Watched: August 20th, 2014
Released: July 29th, 2014
Rated: 8/10
Notes: Nudity, sex scenes, gore, death

August 20th, 2014 

Hello there and how’s everyone?

I’ve recently acquired the Batman: Assault on Arkham, and while I sure was not up to date with the other DC movies that I acquired, I couldn’t stop myself. I was just too psyched about this movie due to the whole hype it garnered on the Internet.

I don’t think the next sections will involve spoilers, but just in case, thread carefully!

To prep myself [and there are spoilers in these videos], I watched VariantComicsvideo review about it. There’s also WatchMojo‘s origins video of the Suicide Squad and then their video of Harley Quinn. I’ll also link you with ItsSuperEffective‘s video review [it’s long and then REALLY messy but then… you know… it’s JokerxHarley… it’s always going to be nuts].

Please remember that I do not read the comics and I have never played the Batman games, although I do have one of them downstairs, but Vaporeon won’t let me play unless he’s playing.



The action sequence is absolutely flawless, I love how the camera action is able to show so much of the action without being completely jagged and incoherent.

WATCH OUT FOR:
There is nudity between Killer Frost and then there’s Harley Quinn and Deadshot who had a certain scene together.
There’s a lot of violence and gore and death, which was not too overwhelming, but would still be PRETTY important to note for.
There’s also abuse and a lot of it, especially when you realize that Joker and Harley are together [they’re in a rather dysfunctional relationship after all].

For a superhero fan as I am, the story stood pretty well by itself, lifting itself up thanks to humor as well as somewhat coherence with the characters’ backstories and motivations (in my opinion as a non-comic book reader, anyway) and weighing itself down because of the death count [in my personal opinion].

As usual, the movies and animations from DC Movies are flawless in the sense where the designers really do their homework and put a lot of effort into the details, like the use of the grappling hook (which is used a lot in the games, apparently).


I love that the main characters (who are, surprisingly, not Batman, but some of his villains, which move on to consist of the SUICIDE SQUAD for Amanda Waller) can’t keep themselves from fighting and that they were still trying to maintain some kind of teamwork despite everything. They are really being true to the villain stereotype and always double-crossing each other.

As you can see below, the main squad consists of:

  • Captain Boomerang [whose rather ‘specific ability’ is pretty interesting to look at and explore, and whom I didn’t know of before, it seems like he was really used for comedy purposes as well as a bit of… rivalry between him and Deadshot];
  • Deadshot [who shows his back story and motivation MOST throughout the movie];
  • Harley Quinn [while I seem to remember that she’s not Growlithe‘s favourite character, she is quite well portrayed in here. We must never forget that Harley IS a psychiatrist and a genius at that. She’s just… a bit… silly and incredibly in love with the Joker, which totally shows off what ItsSuperEffective’s Faust says, about one of her pasts; about how she’s a genius who wanted to write a thesis about how people committed crimes for love… (I’ve gotta rewatch that to see if I understood it well)];
  • Black Spider [whom I only really ever encountered in the Young Justice series but who, in my opinion anyway, lacked a lot of motivation and story, because I didn’t really get his character as much as I did the others];
  • Killer Frost [whom I also met in the Young Justice series, but who really was deadlier in this one];
  • KGBeast [who sadly only had a small-ish screen time, but it was still pretty importan, but it was sad because I didn’t know him and I would’ve wanted to learn more about him];
  • King Shark [whom I didn’t know either beforehand].

I also greatly enjoyed how the movie introduced the characters to us. They were able to show us just how expert these people are in what they do and/or just how insane they are [especially in terms of Harley Quinn].

It was very interesting to see that this was not the first time that Amanda Waller had recruited many of them (Harley and Deadshot are a proof of this (if you spot the “X” at the back of their necks, even the Riddler).
I’ll admit that, while Amanda Waller is certainly very impressive and I didn’t really expect her to appear as such, I had missed her sass from her previous incarnations in the Justice League cartoon.

It was equally fascinating to watch their interactions with each other. I don’t know about the original series, but it seemed to me like they did it well for most part.

Harley Quinn and the Joker were extremely well done. They showed how really twisted their relationship was and how abusive the Joker is towards Harley, despite everything that she does for him, and everything that she risks for him. Her relationship with Deadshot is apparently a nod to the new 52 where she has a fling with him [which, by the way, made Joker pretty jealous, which even further twists the relationship, I mean, he loves her, but he loves hurting her, too].

The constant contest between Captain Boomerang and Deadshot, the first trying to undermine the latter’s authority, was quite interesting to watch, especially since they sort of have the same kind of ability (what differs is the medium (or projectiles) with which they use to reach their targets. I feel like it’s best explained in their duel at the bar.

Another highlight relationship was between Killer Frost and King Shark. I really liked the two together, their little jokes and their sweet moments made me ship them together. I wonder if the ship exists!


Batman [he uses the GRAPPLING HOOK, which is totally something that he uses mainly in the game (from what I hear the reviews say)] made an appearance and, while he totally is the hero, the story did not focus him specifically.
Commissioner Gordon also appears, even if it was only very short and he was used for a bit of humor and sarcasm.

Otherwise, this movie was full of other criminals from the Batman mythos, some of which I knew, and some of which I didn’t know.

  • The Penguin [who helps them out and is actually working for Amanda Waller];
  • The Joker [he’s even referenced to the time he once threw her out of the car, so that was a great nod to the fans];
  • The Riddler [is also extremely important to the plot, and I was glad to see him, just because I sort of like him as a villain. I’m also glad that he was the one who found out about Batman’s deception];
  • Two-Face [who didn’t really appear for a long screen time, but it was still nice to see that he was there (he was also mentioned)];
  • Zsas [who was used for a great homage];
  • Poison Ivy [dang, while she doesn’t speak a lot, I was surprised that she and Harley did not have a touching reunion! Are they not the Sirens of Gotham, after all?!];
  • Bane [who did some pretty severe damage and I was glad that Batman had a fight with him before the end];
  • Scarecrow [who did not appear as often and I am not even sure if he got taken down at all];
  • Killer Moth [mentioned], Mr. Freeze [mentioned], and more, whom King Shark mentioned he had never even ever HEARD of [which made me laugh because it’s sort of a nod to fans who don’t read the comics and/or are not familiar with more obscure Batman villains].

imageAll right, I shall leave you at this then, dear readers!
Hope you enjoyed the movie if you chose/choose to watch it,
and, as usual, see you next time!!
Ponyta’s out!

