Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Title: Garo: Honoo no Kokuin
MyAnimeList link
Episode: 01 [Hellfire]
Watched: December 18th, 2014

December 18th, 2014

Salutations everybody!
How are you all doing? I trust this post finds you in good health! And I also hope the same for myself as well! So, I decided to try and watch this anime, even though it’s written on MyAnimeList that it’s R-17. Technically, of course, I’m definitely older than 17 years old, and I should be able to take it, but whether or not I’m able to, we’ll see.

I should probably start by saying that I’ve never seen or watched or read any adaptations of the series, but I had read the synopsis and it was interesting enough for me to get the series (or whatever had aired anyway) in order to try viewing it during the holidays.


The introduction of the episode was nothing short of majestic and to the point. I absolutely loved the way they animated everything, from the action and the transformation scenes (It’s MORPHIN’ TIME) to the opening sequence, very nicely done. There’s a lot of blood in this first episode, especially due to the witch hunts and the warlocks and witches being brought down mercilessly. They also did especially well with the explanation of what’s happening in the anime historically and politically speaking [again, this is in the anime].

As a character, I don’t really like Mendoza [nor Octavia]. He’s the one who instigated these witch hunts to start with, which I think is wrong already, but let’s see what the future has in store for this character. Am I the only one getting a very Claude Frollo [Disney Villain, you infidels, oh and also from that one novel xD] vibe from that guy? As German Luis implied, I think that the two of them are Horrors who poisoned the king and killed the witch [and subsequently healed him] in order to get the King’s approval and friendship. Afterwards, they could lead the witch hunt so that witches and warlocks can no longer seal away Horrors. That would make so much sense. I feel like that there’s more than just that to the story, let’s see what else there is.

German Luis is probably Leo’s biological father, right? Or is it just me? It’s probably not a coincidence that he barged in and attempted to save the Witch. Is it possible that she’s one of the strongest witch there is, and that’s why Mendoza wanted her gone [she and her baby, who could potentially be just as strong as she is?]? If German Luis indeed is, then it must have hurt not to be able to save his beloved from the clutches of the fire. He saved their son [whom, I believe, the witch took all of her remaining strength into single-handedly deliver into the world but also protect from the fire], though, so that’s that. It’d be interesting to hear more about his story.

I wonder if that pendant that the Queen gave to Alfonso means that he’s also a Knight, and that he’s also a danger to the Horrors, which is why Octavia reacted to it the way she did.
Speaking of them, what was that ceremony all about anyway? If Alfonso is 20 years old now, then it means that he was about 3 years old when Leo was born [when the witch died], yes? The Queen mentioned how he was a sickly child before, and yet, he became a really healthy young man here. Could it be thanks to the Horrors? Could he be a Horror? But then he’s able to touch the pendant, so he’s probably safer with it and he’s probably NOT a Horror… does this mean that she’s no longer protected, though…


There’s a lot of reasons why I shouldn’t watch this anime… the R-17 rating should be enough, there were some scenes that I would consider either vulgar or just really… improper… but to be fair, I was warned, and I sort of expected it, so I concentrated on the subtitles whenever they showed up.

…so I wouldn’t recommend watching this while your parents are behind you? Or are watching also?

But I must say that I’m intrigued. They’ve built their lore and their myths well enough to camouflage the whole similarity to the Hunchback of Notre Dame‘s plot line. I’m willing to disregard the nudity and the like for now, and we’ll see how well it goes!

ヽ(*・ω・)人(・ω・*)ノ Ponyta’s out! ヽ(*・ω・)人(・ω・*)ノ

