Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Amaranthine Voyage: Living Mountain 
Started: 
July 30th, 2014
Finished: July 30th, 2014
Rated: 9/10
Duration: ~4 hours
Difficulty level: Hard/Expert [couldn’t get myself to play hardcore]

July 31rst, 2014 

Salutations, people!
How are you all doing?

As for me, I’m doing great! I’ve finally gotten around playing and finishing a game by my lonesome, guys! And boy am I happy to have done so! This game is the continuation of the first Amaranthine Voyage game; Amaranthine Voyage: The Tree of Life, which I had played a few months ago and even scheduled a post for prior to playing this game.

As I have mentioned previously, it’d been awhile since I played a new game – other than replaying some games for work and with friends – like Jirachi, Rapidash and Piplup, but in my opinion, this was a very well thought out game. Maybe if circumstances were different and I had had the time to play multiple games before this one, my opinion would be different, but I sincerely think that the Eipix group did a great job with this sequel. 

We reprise the role of Professor Burns, a female professor in a university, as she returned and talked about her adventures from the Tree of Life game. Her students made fun of her and people doubted her professional integrity, since the story was so rocambolesque. Despite this, someone comes to her and tells her that his son disappeared after following her footsteps. That someone gave her/us clues as to how to find the son in question.
I felt the need to mention this synopsis to the story because some game sequels ignore completely what happened during the first episode – not even bothering to MENTION it. Whereas in here, the Tree of Life is mentioned often and the character still uses her bow and arrow, etc. It was also great to be this character again!

The puzzles – as I was solving them in expert mode – were pretty diversified in difficulty. Some of them were easily solved, some others… less. One of the best puzzle was in the form of a series of riddles, in which the answers were actually items that we had to find in a Hidden Object Board. It is a GREAT way to incorporate both puzzles and Hidden Object Boards. Another one particular puzzle I enjoyed reminded me of the game Flow [x].
Meanwhile, the Hidden Object Boards were quite beautiful, but not as difficult to wade through. The Hidden Object boards presented themselves in either shadow images of the objects we are looking for, or in the form of words, as usual. Another way to solve the Hidden Object Boards was to play a game of… I think “Bubble Spinner” (although I couldn’t bring myself to do such a thing).

The visuals, as usual, were nicely done – even if I thought it was a bit weird – the 3D effect they put onto the people. And lastly, the sound effects were also very nice and befitting the atmosphere, although I think that they used the same soundtrack as in the first game – I am not sure, but I do believe it is so!

Quick mention that they actually let our character have a cat – named Copernicus, whom we see at the beginning [I would have liked for us to have our cat with us throughout the game, too], and throughout the game, you also have a companion in the form of a dog named Bonnie, who proves to be very helpful to find certain objects far off our reach.

With this, people, I wish you good night/day!
Ponyta’s out! 

 

