Tags

, , , , ,

Title: Garo: Honoo no Kokuin
MyAnimeList link
Episode: 18 [Scar Flame]
Watched: February 16th, 2015

February 16th, 2015

Everyone!
How are you all doing? I was so upset that I wasn’t able to watch episode 18 last weekend, as I had thought I would be able to, just because they left us with such a cliffhanger (I mean, IS SHE D-E-D, WHAT HAPPENED?!). At any rate, here are my thoughts on episode 18 of Garo: The Animation. Please be aware that it will contain spoilers for those of you who haven’t watched it.

I found it good of the writers to remind us – via Alfonso – that Leon is – or at least was – prone to vengeful emotions, which could lead to the same disaster as the Garo Armor being misused and controlled by such negative emotions. It’s quite funny that Alfonso knows about his uncle’s womanizer tendencies, and still, he respects him [because seriously, if I had a womanizer uncle, sempai or no in the business of killing Horrors, I’d have disowned him]. I wonder if the Prince of Valiente is really allowed to have so much free time that he would just leave the palace to look for Leon [maybe he made up an excuse or he finished all of the things he was supposed to be doing as Temporary King – OR Octavia was good and let his father back in good health, so that he (the father) can rule and so that Alfonso can finally be free of his responsibilities. I sort of wish there’d been more explanation]. I’m glad we got a glimpse of the Gaia Knight once more. I feel like it would have fit Leon as well, since he wants to PROTECT, but then again, he didn’t earn the predecessor’s permission, whereas the Garo Armor is his property by blood (although it’s also Alfonso‘s, just saying). I’m glad that Alfonso relinquished (well Zaruba went with him quite obediently) the Garo armor ‘easily’. The Prince of Valiente really isn’t greedy and wouldn’t keep two armors for himself, that’s a good thing.

I’m glad to see that Lady Ximena trusts German Luis the way she does; and also that German actually did a move on her before he left [although this is so bad, man, if you don’t know for how long you’re going to be gone, nor whether or not you’ll be BACK in that town, just leave the poor girl alone, don’t even give her hope that you might come back when you might not, wrong move on your part, bro, wrong]. I will say that I was waiting for it to happen, though. I mean, he stopped womanizing ever since meeting her – at least that’s what it feels like – and she also has feelings for him, so you know! It appears also like he might have wrinkles from not being able to sleep because he knows that this new assignment means he might be leaving her [can’t believe they slept together though, you couldn’t have waited until you were sure that you could be back, you caca?]. But that white flower was a good touch, I bet he’d gone to look for it before he could leave [is she going to be preggers when he comes back and will he even come back? I hope so, I really hope that he doesn’t die, because then Leon and Ximena will have to raise that baby and he/she would have to wield Jiruba]. I hadn’t realized that other rings could talk… but we’re presented to Jiruba, German’s ring, haha.

I thought that he would tell Leon and Alfonso about where he would go – to help out Mendoza – because they could team up and defeat Mendoza once more. I think he’s only pretending to obey the Watchdog Center, so that they think he would never question his orders – as he usually does? However, by telling his nephew and son where he was going, I guess that he might be betraying them as soon as he learns why the Watchdog Center wants him to work with Mendoza and why Mendoza seems to be on good terms with them once more [telling Leon and Alfonso would then simply be a plan B just in case he doesn’t succeed?].

Leon‘s flames – as the title implies – make a return, because, as the Horror attempts to remind him time and time again, he’s full of hatred due to the Horrors who took his happiness (his mother and Lara, whom eh could not protect). It was quite impressive of him to show his cousin – Alfonso – what he was made of in a real fight. I was somewhat expecting this in the beginning, if you would recall. I didn’t want them to fight each other to the death, though. The animators really didn’t mind disfiguring the characters when it came to blows, and I approve of this. It was quite magnificent to watch, and it gave me goosebumps, so kudos for that. I quite liked the music that came with the battle, and how we were shown that Leon had vanquished his flames thanks to Lara and her family, that instead of taking revenge for their life [hers specifically], he would instead protect the things that she would have wanted to see, which is really quite noble, and indeed, he did become quite stronger. Leon’s return to the Garo Knighthood was really quite nice [even though he didn’t fare so well – especially not being used to armoring up and all that]. I like this new, protective Leon [I just hope that not all of his proteges will remind him of Lara, because that would be sad and he’d be crying all the time and it would make me cry and that’s just a vicious cycle], and I really hope that nevermore, his flames will ever bother him and make him stray from his new found objectives [although to be completely fair, we’re all human, even he is, despite being quite advanced in enhancements, and if he were ever to stray, as long as it was well written, I would not mind].


Next episode seems to feature Ema Guzman, whom we haven’t seen in awhile. I haven’t forgotten about her, so I’m quite happy that we’ll get to see what she’s been up to and I can’t wait to see whether or not she’s found the Horror she’s been looking for for so long [this quest of hers reminds me a lot of Claymore, a manga/anime you definitely should check out when you have the time].

I can’t wait till the next episode, can you?
Anyways, I’ll see you next week!
imagePonyta’s out! image

