Tags

, , , , , , ,

Title: Mystery Case Files
Edition: Collector’s
By: Elephant Games
Played with: Mewtwo
Mewtwo‘s rating: 7.9/10
Rating: 8.5/10
Started: November 28th, 2014
Finished: November 30th, 2014
Duration: ~4.5 hours
Level: Expert Trapper

December 1rst, 2014 

Hello people,
How are you all doing? From the dates, you’ve got it: I have started playing a game right after NaNoWriMo was done, that’s right, that’s how much I missed playing. Also because, let’s be honest, once NaNoWriMo coaster ride is done, you’re like: ‘Whoa, I’m BORED now… at least during the month, I had PURPOSE…‘. This is not my first NaNoWriMo… in fact, this is my… third year, I think, and each December, I feel a pinch of relief, and DREAD.

Okay so, I remember very VIVIDLY how I played the last Dire Grove game from the Mystery Case Files. It was thoroughly scary, and scary, and really scary. This game, however, was significantly less scary (don’t get me wrong, there were certainly frightening moments here and there, scattered in the game, but overall, it wasn’t as scary as Dire Grove) than its predecessor with the same title. Mostly because there were people present around you, so you knew that your character could sustain no real damage… or could he/she?

Something which I haven’t seen in these types of games was that you could choose whether or not your detective was Female or Male. Although it didn’t change anything to the story line, it did add in a female voice actress to play the detective, which is tremendously awesome. And by the way, the Voice Acting was done very well!! As usual, the visual effects and sound effects were well executed [even though you couldn’t really take my word for it, I mean, I’m not an expert in the field]! I did stop sometimes to take in the view of this mysterious land that is Dire Grove. I wonder if there will be more adventures leading us to Dire Grove once more. After all, the main enemy of our detective (I forgot his name because it’s the first time that I encounter him) is revealed to originate from there.

In terms of the Hidden Object Games, it was actually pretty easy to do [Mewtwo is extremely fast with these], despite the fact that we’d chosen the Hardcore equivalent of the game modes. On the other hand and perhaps to balance this, the puzzles were a bit harder (especially for me). In one single board, you had a series of objects and mini-puzzles to solve in order to get the item that will be crucial to solving the mystery case file. It was sometimes very frustrating, sometimes very AWESOME to solve. It was extremely well thought of and the game mostly gets all its points from this aspect [out of me anyway].


That’s it for me today.
Did you play the game? If so, what did you think? Scary? Fun? Interactive? Phenomenal?
Leave your thoughts in the comments below!
Take good care of yourselves, and see you next time!
Ponyout! \(゚ー゚\)

