Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Love Chronicles: A Winter’s Spell [Fourth game]
Edition: Collector’s
By: Vendel Games [Big Fish Games]
Rating: 8.8/10
Started: January 16th, 2015
Finished: January 16th, 2015
Duration: ~ 4 hours
Level: Hard

January 16th, 2015

You have my greetings, people of the Internet!
How are you all doing? Whoa, 2016, huh!? I sure hope it’s going to be well for all of us! So, before the hectic part of the semester [Winter 2015, because when you receive this post, it will already be the end of the Winter semester, probably] starts to fall onto my frail, frail shoulders, I thought I would play a Hidden Object Game that recently came out. It’s the fourth installment of the Love Chronicles series.

So, Love Chronicles and I have this relationship. I really love the concept, and Vendel Games makes a good job for every single game of this series, to remind you of what happened in the previous game. I love this because it’s a great callback for all of the people who have played the previous games [and also because it seems more coherent this way, the story follows its course [and plus, we get a nice re-cap of everything in this game specifically], and it seems like, at the end of the game anyway, there is a hint that this may either be the last of the Love Chronicles series, OR that this will be the last game of the series with these characters]. I think the whole idea that at least they keep the same characters and follow through the same storyline appeals to me so much that’s why I gave this game a high grade [oh and, is it me, or is it that most of the games I’ve played have been talking about the Snow Queen and her Curse? Is it because it’s a popular Christmas/Winter tale?].

I love thinking about how the people who worked on the art of these games have really moved into their own style and the animators have found ways to make this game even better than the others – even though, as a small complaint, I will say that I miss making inventions and finding hidden objects that are actually relevant to the quest [to be fair though, in this game, unlike any of the three previous games, you play Amora, so that may be why you don’t get to invent]. Meanwhile, as usual, the voice acting was done well, I liked that you could “continue” a conversation before the voice actors were done talking, but it wouldn’t have to “skip” the whole conversation entirely [because I read fast but I still want to understand the story]. 

I enjoyed, as usual, both the puzzles and the hidden object boards for this game. The degree of difficulty as well as the different types of each, as usual, varied, but seriously, some of the puzzles were incredibly difficult. I’m not complaining, but it’s a fair warning. One of them – the one where you play against the computer, whose moves were mostly randomized, and need to get more “Princess tiles” than “Ice Queen tiles” on the board – really drained my brain energy, and I even actually considered skipping the puzzle altogether. But I didn’t. I don’t know how I managed, but I did it! It was quite the rush and pride to succeed where I had failed numerous time. I’m thankful that the Hidden Object Boards were less difficult – even though some of them took awhile to find as well!


All right,
That’s it for me today!
I’ll see you all next month for another game review,
Or perhaps I’ll see you next week for another monthly recs/review,
Or even during the week for a weekly review!
Whatever the case, until then, take care!
(•ˋ _ ˊ•) Ponyout! (•ˋ _ ˊ•)

