Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Batman: Gotham Knight
Released: 2008
Watched: May 29th, 2014
Rated: 9/10

May 29th, 2014 

Hello readers!
How are you all doing? Last month before school finishes for most of us, eh? Then, it’s gonna be PAR-TAY TIMEZ!! (Unless you have summer school, like me, or unless you have a summer job, but trust me, it beats lazying around in the house and having your parents nag at you to be more useful around the house!! DO IT!!). *cough* As for myself, I still have summer class, so… yeah… I should have started on a concept map but…

…Recently (maybe last week), I’ve acquired a few (new) DC movies about superheroes. I was so happy that I couldn’t help but get started as soon as possible.

Today, I have chosen to watch the movie called: Batman: Gotham Knight, so, without further ado, let us get started:

Batman: Gotham Knight

This movie is divided into many parts (or stories or segments, whichever you wish to call them), which vary in tone and in story telling style as well as in art style. I have noted (I think anyway), that the mentioned art style is reminiscent of Japanese anime style. The first story is an old style which I have not always seen (because I have only started watching anime recently), but the second segment greatly resembled the style of Blood+ anime (in my most humble opinion anyway).

Something that is to note is the voice acting. This movie features not just any voice actors. It was Kevin Conroy himself. I nearly squealed when I heard his voice for the first time [it’s been awhile, ok?]. For those of you who don’t know, Kevin Conroy is the one who lends his voice to the Caped Crusader for Justice League, Justice league: UnlimitedBatman: The Animated SeriesBatman Beyond, and so, Oh! So much more! Don’t get me wrong, his successors in the Batman role have done a great job, but… it’s just… Kevin Conroy is pretty iconic when it comes to Batman (in my most humble not biased at all opinion as a fan anyway).

I will be giving a commentary on each of these segments below. There may be SPOILERS [which will be in white font for the most part, but I may have missed some], so read at your own indiscretion, people!

You’ve been properly warned! Enjoy!


The first part is called: “Have I got a story for you“. I have quite enjoyed myself and I may be embarrassed to admit that I thought perhaps I had taken the wrong movie. They do mention our Dark Knight, but the children picture him quite differently from the Batman we know. I thought: ‘Is this a different kind of Batman I was never introduced to?‘ or ‘Wait… are we talking about Man Bat?!‘ but by the second story told by the youngsters, I had understood what the studio was trying to portray, and I am quite proud to say that it worked. They were trying to let us see what Batman looks like in children’s eyes.

I remember someone saying or writing about the Gotham’s Knight, saying that he’d designed his suit to inspire fear into the criminals’ eyes. It is quite so fearsome that even children were scared of him. This is why he is never quite pictured as [human] in the children’s eyes when they tell their recollections to each other.

The art style, as I have mentioned, is not one that I am very used to seeing. It should not bother you once you’ve gotten used to it. I liked the dialogues and the effects were quite nice to look at. There is blood [not complete gore, but still presence of blood] and violence, however. I also enjoyed that they’ve portrayed different aspects of Gotham city; especially the bad, poor-ish parts to the richer areas where people dress nicer in broad daylight.


The second part is called: “Crossfire“, which, I’ll admit, was nicely titled [you’ll understand why, I’m sure].

I love how the characters of Batman are so iconic that we don’t need any introduction to them whatsoever. Lt. James Gordon is a prime example of this in this story. We know that he trusts Batman and that they have a kind of partnership. I enjoy that his detective, Chris Allen, questions his judgement in this segment. I knew that there was conflict for Commissioner Gordon on his side of the partnership with Batman, but I didn’t know that even his subordinates would question him as well. I liked his reasons.

Perhaps more because this art style reminded me so much of the anime Blood+, I’ve enjoyed how they’ve molded together the color scheme, the style and the effects to match the Dark Knight’s night activities (whereas it was slightly more funny and light in the first story). Both segments contrast each other well. Once again, the Batman in here was designed to look fearsome and to inject fear into his opponents’ eyes. I feel like this is what happened to the boss that we see in the end. He was panicking when he saw the Bat.

This story really shows the world that Gotham was plunged into from a police officer’s point of view. The differing opinions of Chris Allen and Anna Ramirez are representative, I think, of the majority of honest cops who are employed, especially into the MCU (Major Crimes Unit) that Commissioner Gordon has formed.


The third story, “Field Test“, tells the story of Batman from Batman’s point of view (for once in this movie). We’ve seen Batman from the point of view of children, from the point of view of adults and now, more specifically, in Bruce Wayne’s shoes, operating behind the scenes even when he’s not wearing the cape, which is quite so different!

Oh but wow, I do like his flashiness combined with his intelligence when he’s just Bruce Wayne. I would NEVER have guessed that bishounen young man would be Bruce Wayne, either, if it weren’t for Kevin Conroy’s voice. Ah man, I did not picture him like that. But I must say that it was funny to watch him strut his stuff as a non-masked crusader.

I enjoyed his use of the gadget as well, and I was wondering when he would realize the error of using something that deflects as it does. I’m glad to see that he decided otherwise, because it went against his ways. I am not sure why his interaction and his [stealing the PDA] with Ronald Marshall was important, however.


The fourth story is “In Darkness Dwells“.

The first thing you notice in the first few minutes to this segment is the style. While it resembles the previous two segments, it’s somewhat and somehow darker and grittier, not only in the graphics used for the background but also in the somewhat distorted or disproportional designs of the people.

I liked the use of the Batman [being upside down when he speaks with Commissioner Gordon], it’s funny because he’s a bat, although I don’t think Batman would ever really do that. Batman’s design is definitely more brute-like, more muscular, as well. Even his interaction [with the sewer people] is dark. Major props to the Bats [for being able to fight despite his injuries. It was also so real I think, mostly because Bruce still hurt and you still saw blood spurting out]. Extremely representative of him, I think. This segment also contains blood.


Just another billionaire playboy having a vacation, right? WRONG!

Working Through Pain“, the fifth segment, is quite gripping, mostly because of the excess of blood [if the previous stories didn’t have a lot of blood, you’re warned here and now that this one has much gore. I had to pause to catch my breath]. You even see him using his infamous utility belt for once.

The overall feeling that I had when I watched this fifth story was that, despite whatever people think, it reminds us that “Batman is not invincible“, and this is another aspect of Batman that we’re being lead through all of these segments, but more so here. It deals with Bruce’s pain [which even Cassandra could not help him with].

I enjoyed Alfred’s appearance in this one, as well as the action scenes.


Deadshot” is the title of the sixth and last part of the movie. Before even watching it, I know that the point of view might be that of Deadshot, the villain who appears in Arrow as well as in many of the DC cartoons.

It deals with something that was touched upon in the previous segment; guns and Batman’s pain, that which drives him to be the Bat; the murder of his parents. The art style is pretty old-ish in my opinion, or maybe it’s because I’m still a noob in terms of anime. It finally clears things on why Bruce Wayne went through the trouble [of stealing Ronald Marshall’s PDA and talked about Teresa Williams’ assassination in the previous segments, so the segments were brilliantly woven together to make a bigger story].

I do enjoy Batman’s mastery of the gadgets!! The art style and effects add an extremely nice effect to the story telling. It concludes the movie very well, in my opinion anyway.


If you readers would like to celebrate Batman’s 75th anniversary, why not watch this movie? I think it’s quite accurate in many ways and gives new points of views for you to look at the Bats. There’s also the appeal of Kevin Conroy’s voice to take into consideration!!

All right, I shall get going now.
See you all later!

image Ponyout! image

 

