Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Dangerous Games: Illusionist
By: Blam! Games
Edition: Collector’s
Started: February 21rst, 2015
Finished: February 22nd, 2015
Played with: Mewtwo and Munchlax
Rating: 7.5-8/10
Mewtwo‘s Rating: 7.9/10
Duration: ~5 hours

February 22nd, 2015 

Hello there everybody!
How are you all doing today? Munchlax, Mewtwo and I decided to start this new game, because we were bored and didn’t want to study for our midterms [in my case, anyway]. Here’s what we I thought about the game!

Story-wise, none of us could say that it was extremely original, since it was very similar to the Phantom of the Opera game we’d previously played. However, if you didn’t play the Phantom of the Opera, and if you don’t mind the cliches [from rooftop scenes to revenge from a rejected love], then you might actually like the story of this game! Like I said, it’s extremely reminiscent of other games that we’ve played, so really, it doesn’t get as much points for this. The villain himself wasn’t being completely coherent on his own either; I mean, he kept calling the protagonist Little Cat at the beginning, and then, from the middle ’till the end, he calls her Little Bird. His motivations were also pretty… hazy, in the sense where he seemed to have so many (ambitious, much, bro?!) that it was hard to follow exactly. Inconsistency aside, I wish we’d known more about his back story, I guess I’d need to play the first installment of the game, so I should take that into consideration.

This was hardly explained in much detail… [what happened to the old man we rescued from the island?!?!]

Artistic Effects-wise, the soundtrack was nice, and I think that Blam! Games uses the same sound effects for “triggering puzzles/Hidden Object Boards” and “successfully solving them” for each of their games, because those sounds were really familiar. Meanwhile, in the visuals department, while I didn’t really like the way the mouths were animated, I found the visuals – especially the scenery – pretty nice, but then again, as Mewtwo mentions, a lot of games have similar sceneries and great detail in their visual department work. Oh yes, I should mention there was one frightening moment in this game: the clown. Beware of clowns [especially the ones that jump out of virtually NOWHERE while you’re exploring a room]. But otherwise, the scare-meter dialed down to minimal scare for the rest of the game.

The puzzles were nice and varied, as it is the case for many of the games I’ve played this year. Sometimes, however, you really had to maneuver your mouse well in order to get the good click. The Hidden Object Boards were extremely nice, I must say, and the one that I thought was the hardest was the one where we had to find all of the tools. It may be because of my tired eyes, or because of the fact that I do not use tools much in my daily life, but it was really tough to find everything!


Anyways, with this all being said,
I’m going to see you all next month
Or next week!
But until then, as you well know,
Take care of yourselves!
⁄(⁄ ⁄•⁄ω⁄•⁄ ⁄)⁄ Ponyta’s out! \(\ \•\ω\•\ \)\

