Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Dead Reckoning: Brassfield Manor
Edition: Collector’s
Rating: 8.8/10
Duration: 4-5 hours
Started: March 15th, 2015
Finished: March 16th, 2015
By: Eipix Entertainment

April 6th, 2015

Hey there everybody!
I trust this post from the past finds you in a good mood/shape! I hope that I’ll also still be good, haha! So, I started to play all of these games with Munchlax all these weeks, and I sort of forgot to just prepare these posts!! Without further ado, here are my thoughts about Dead Reckoning: Brassfield Manor!

This is supposedly the second installment to the Dead Reckoning games, and it’s so unfortunate that I didn’t get to play the first one, but that’s Okay… Storywise, the story was fairly good. I liked the whole concept of investigating as an official detective/investigator, and the fact that there was a messed up rich family (no, that’s not a good thing!!!) involved in a murder. What’s the most interesting is the fact that the detective work is done a little more in this game: suspects are sought out and they give you their ‘alibi’, and the protagonists deciphers whether or not these are lies based on the evidence that they’ve gathered. Isn’t that cool?! Not only that, but I loved the fact that the Bonus Chapter gave you a twist to the results of your investigation [spoilers: I mean, the fact that, all this time, we’d thought the son was the culprit, and we find out that his sister is no saint either…. and end up arresting her as well… brilliant and also very messed up…]!

As usual, Eipix did a great job with their visuals [at this point, why do I even bother talking about visuals with Eipix or any other games from this industry?!], voice acting cast [indeed, there is, if I recall, a bunch of voices – and there’s a lot of characters in this story, too, and it fits with the concept: you do need a lot of characters [especially shady ones] in order to make for a bigger pool of suspects], and sound effects – although this was when I noticed even more that many of their effects (especially little sounds here and there that announce certain things/events (like finding an object in a Hidden Object Board, for example)) were actually recycled from prior games. I think this may be the case for many of their games, as well as many game creators, as they probably would want to re-use music/sounds that they have the ‘rights’ to? And/or already have paid for? As opposed to paying another music designer (or maybe paying the same one) to create other sound effects that would somehow differ? After taking my soundtrack class, I feel like I still don’t know a lot, but it sort of feels like this could be a plausible explanation as to why they use it so often.

For the puzzles, it was fairly scattered in diversity, which is always a good thing! I also liked that there were so many rooms that you had to navigate through and come back to in order to solve certain ‘puzzles’. Meanwhile, the Hidden Object Boards were pretty good, especially, as I almost never fail to mention, combined with the art style. Most of them presented themselves in the form of a list of items which you would have to find within a board. What was pretty interesting was that you could ‘substitute’ finding these items with simply playing a game of Bubble Shooter [for which I believe you could also gain achievements, but personally, I’m not good at these bubble shooting games, and I rather play Hidden object Boards, so basically guess what I did, haha].


And this concludes my post on the Dead Reckoning 2 game!
I shall see you all next week or next month!
Take good care of yourselves until then!
∩(︶▽︶)∩ (︶ω︶) (∩▂∩) Ponyta’s out! ∩(︶▽︶)∩ (︶ω︶) (∩▂∩)

